14days post op -hip arthroscopy

So it’s been two weeks since the operation and as I took a lot of heart in the pre-op stage from reading what others have had to say about their recovery I feel that I should share my post op experience.

Despite having an extremely negative surgeon who has told me to stop running I remain extremely positive. I got my stitches out today and the wounds are healing well. There’s still a fair amount of bruising and I can’t fully weight bear comfortably but I no longer have the bone on bone hip pain that I’ve had for the past twelve months.

I am convinced, in spite of the surgeon and grade 3 arthritis, that I will run and complete my October marathon. I’ve been on the static bike now twice with no hip reaction and I’ve been doing rehab exercises and plenty of upper body weights. I believe that an active recovery is vital. In the days I haven’t trained (weights& hip rehab exercises) I have been sore. Thankfully this has only been two days post op.

I should add, for the benefit of anyone waiting for this op, that I went into it active. I trained as best I could right up to the operation. I’ve learned over the years that the only way to deal with injury is to work around it. Note that I said “around” it. My days of working “through” most injuries are probably over and I’ve adopted a much more sensible approach.

I know that at some point in the future I shall require a hip replacement. It’s probably sooner than I’d hoped given the severity of arthritis but nonetheless this surgery, although it’s early days, has given me renewed hope of hitting the road for another fifteen to twenty years (to varying degrees ) . That bit of hope is all I need to get me through the remainder of my rehabilitation, after that I’ll take it one mile at a time 🙂

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 14days post op -hip arthroscopy

  1. Julian says:

    Thank you 🙂

  2. sarahdudek80 says:

    Here’s hoping for a speedy recovery. Good for you for not giving up. I would be the same way and totally understand.

Leave a Reply

