Frustration…what to do?

I haven’t blogged in a while because there hasn’t been any running to blog about. I’ve been plagued with an old ankle injury and a really tight hamstring to add to the frustration. Since running just under 9 miles last Sunday I have not set foot on the pavement!

It should have been a really enjoyable run last Sunday in the cool fresh November air. The  weather conditions were terrific – the condition of my left ankle & hamstring sadly not. It was supposed to be a slow run, but not painfully slow – more like a shuffle really 🙂 It wasn’t as enjoyable as it should have been and I was glad to get back home.

After having suffered a broken ankle at 16 years old, I sustained this very injury numerous times in my late teens and early twenties playing football. I am paying for it now!

What should we do at times like this? It is really hard to decide whether to rest completely or try to do something light? I opted for complete rest (almost – I used the step machine in the gym on Thursday night and did a 14mile cycle today, but it is still a week’s rest from running!) and a couple of deep tissue massages to try to ensure I am ready for a 10k race next Saturday. That’s another thing – I’m not quite sure if any time goal I had is now shot to pieces by my poor mileage count and low quality training or if, in fact, previous fitness and this rest period will help my performance? I don’t know how it will turnout Saturday.

What I do know is that I’ll try to get out for an even paced 13-14miles tomorrow to test the ankle and hamstring and if it is better I will get one tortuous interval session in at the beginning of next week. That will be my lot ahead of Saturday’s race! Fingers crossed.

This entry was posted in training tips and links and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frustration…what to do?

  1. Pingback: The night before… | RunJunky

Leave a Reply

